New South Wales Smart and Skilled

New South Wales (NSW) Smart and Skilled is a reform of the NSW Vocational Education and Training system. It’s helping people get the skills they need to find a job and advance their careers. With Smart and Skilled, you have more choice when selecting courses and training providers.

New South Wales (NSW)

NSW Smart and Skilled provides eligible students with:

  • An entitlement to government-subsidised training up to and including Certificate III

Am I eligible to apply ?

If you are:

  • Living or working in NSW
  • An Australian citizen, permanent Australian resident, humanitarian visa holder or New Zealand Citizen
  • 15 years old or older
  • No longer in secondary education (high school)
  • Have been working for your employer for less than three (3) months

You could be eligible for this funding.


For more information about Smart and Skilled and whether you could get funding to advance your career in the telecommunications industry go to smartandskilled.nsw.gov.au

Fees and Charges

The NSW Government contributes to the cost of each course and the learner pays the balance. Fees are calculated for full qualifications, rather than year-by-year. Learners choice of training provider does not affect the fee learners pay for qualifications.

The Student Fee Calculator can be found on the ‘Find a Course‘ page of the Smart and Skilled website.

Fee-Free Apprenticeships

From the 1 July 2018, the NSW Government is making new apprenticeships fee-free – meaning no more upfront training costs for students or employers. Find out more from vet.nsw.gov.au


Apprentice handbook for NSW

NSW  – Apprentice handbook  (PDF)
NSW– Course Outline ICT30419 Certificate III in Telecommunications Network build and Operation
Smart and Skilled– Fees and Charges Policy

LocationsOur training locations in New South Wales include:

  • Sydney & Newcastle Venues
  • Other regional areas by request including:  Armidale, Ballina, Bathurst, Barooga, Dubbo, Gunnedah, Kelso, Macksville, Nowra, Orange, Picton, Port Macquarie, Rydalmere, Silverwater, South Tamworth, Tamworth, Termeil, Toormina, Tweed Heads, Wagga Wagga and Wyong