Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)

What is RPL?

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) at JB Hunter is a process for formally acknowledging skills, knowledge and experience constructed through everyday experience. This learning may have been experienced in any context including school, training, community organisation, sport, work or recreation. It includes both formal and non-formal learning contexts. The defining characteristic of an RPL process is the involvement of suitably qualified and skilled assessor and a rigorous assessment process.

The RPL process

Any qualifications or Units of Competency in our scope can be claimed through RPL.

The following steps outline the RPL process:

Step 1: Client makes an enquiry
Step 2: Client undertakes an initial questionnaire assessment
Step 3: Questionnaire assessment is sent to assessor
Step 4: Client is given an RPL submission tool to collect evidence to support RPL claims
Step 5: Assessor receives evidence and either grants a result or conducts phone interview with client
Step 6: Client is deemed 'Competent' or 'Not Yet Competent'
Step 7: If 'Competent' the qualification or Unit of Competency applied for is issued
Step 8: If 'Not Yet Competent' the assessor creates a training-based action plan to achieve competence

Evidence collection

Evidence should be collected using the 'STAR' approach for each Unit of Competency: 

  • Situation: Identify the situation i.e. employer, workplace and when and where you have done that type of work or study
  • Task: Describe what was to be done and what was your role
  • Action: Explain what you did
  • Result: The outcome that demonstrates competency

Cover all critical evidence listed in the RPL submission tool. This will be a diverse range of documents including Job Safety Analysis (JSA), audit documents, designs, drawings, emails, photos and test results. Third party statements from a boss/supervisor can also be used, see an example here.

Fees & charges

You MAY be eligible for one of the government subsidised programs.

If not:

Fees and charges are based on the following:

  Qualification Single Unit of Competency
Certificate II $2500.00 $200.00
Certificate III $2500.00 $200.00
Certificate IV $2500.00 $200.00

These fees and charges may be modified to take into account difficult circumstances that require additional resources or effort.

How do I get started?

Call us today to make an initial enquiry. 

Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest information on courses, news and announcements from us.